Green in Europe

I was just travelling around Italy and in London, and of course viewed these wonderful places through a green lens. One thing I noticed was how much less prevalent recycling bins were than in my home town of San Francisco. Italy does have big recycling bins on the street, but you have to hang on to your stuff and keep your eye out for them. London definitely did not make recycling easy, at least for a tourist.

I was gratified, however, to be asked in European stores whether I wanted a plastic bag before my purchases were automatically packed, as they are in the U.S. I generally did not want a bag, because I brought my own reusable chico bag for the trip.

It was also great to see most tourists refilling water bottles at the fountains in Italy. I brought a metal water bottle for that purpose (my Parkmerced one, of course!), but at least most people refilled the plastic bottles they bought instead of buying more of them.

I’d love to hear other people’s green experiences around the world! Isn’t travel great!

Leave a Reply

