Down the drain

The eco-apartment has two bathrooms, each with a different faucet design: the one in the master bath has an ordinary on/off handle and the guest bath has a motion-activated faucet. I have to say that I am really into the automatic one and wish it was in both bathrooms. As I was washing my face this morning I was conscious of turning off the water as I lathered up. How much easier it is when the water only flows when you need it! I have turned off the water during teeth brushing for a long time now, but soap lathering is a recent change for me.

As I wash my hands in public restrooms I notice how many women leave the water running as they work the soap over their hands. That clean, potable water is just going down the drain!

In a world in which clean water is unavailable to so many (check out this interesting article), we cannot take it for granted and waste this precious resource. I am committed to minimize the amount of water that I waste and I challenge everyone to change at least one bad water habit. Turn it off when you are not using it!

2 thoughts on “Down the drain

  1. I completely agree with Julie, though I’d also like to add the vegetarian angle.

    Here’s the Water section from Eco-Eating (www.brook.com/veg):

    Water is an absolutely essential resource. Eating meat wastes huge amounts of water, increasingly referred to as “blue gold”. In an effort to conserve increasingly scarce yet completely necessary water, you can install a water saver on your kitchen faucet, saving up to 6,000 gallons (23,000 liters) of water per year. Your savings will be lost, however, if you consume just one pound (0.45 kg) of California beef (which requires about 5,000 gallons (19,000 l)—and as much as 12,000 gallons (45,000 l)—of water per pound to produce).
    A typical meat-based diet wastes a tremendous amount of water per person every day, hastening “peak water”, while vegetarian and vegan diets use only a moderate amount. The amount of water used to produce the meat from a single cow is enough to float a large ship. More than half of the water consumed in the U.S. irrigates land to grow feed for livestock. The Ogallala Aquifer, beneath the Great Plains of the U.S. and one of the world’s largest stores of fresh groundwater, took millions of years to create and is being depleted (and polluted) in decades due to the livestock industry and the crops needed to feed it. It takes about 100 times the amount of water to produce beef as it does to produce wheat.
    The U.S. EPA estimates that almost half of America’s surface streams and wells are contaminated by “agricultural pollutants”, including chemicals and feces. Due to the nitrates in manure, nitrates are too often found in drinking water. Oceans are also being heavily polluted, while coral reefs and other marine habitats destroyed.
    Eco-Eaters help protect and conserve this most precious resource.

    “More than 4,000 gallons (15,000 liters) of water are needed
    to produce a single day’s worth of food for the typical meat eater.
    In comparison, an ovo-lacto vegetarian requires only 1,200 gallons (4,500 l) of water,and a vegan needs a mere 300 gallons (1,135 l).”
    Vegetarian Times Complete Cookbook

    “There is no other single action that is as effective at saving water as eating a plant-based diet.”
    John Robbins, The Food Revolution

  2. I hear you Sister! I’m good in the bathroom, but I could be better when rinsing the dishes.

    And, thank you for the above comment. I’ve heard John talk about this before and he was hugely instrumental in my husband and I becoming vegetarian 15 years ago.

    Let’s keep informing the people. Even concious people need reminders once in a while.

Leave a Reply

